Here’s Why You Should Embrace Rejection, No’s, And Breakups

Sanni Lark
5 min readSep 29, 2022

“Yes is not the only beautiful word in existence. The word no provides us with a lot of possibilities beyond what we were expecting in the first place.”

Credit: Migs Reyes via Pexels

While I was in college I got a part-time job. I started working in the summers since I was 15 years old and I always enjoyed having my own money. So in college I no longer wanted to be a broke student who could only afford McDonald’s snack wraps and coffee.

Is it just me, or was the snack wrap one of the greatest ideas McDonald’s ever came up with?

I decided to get a retail job, as I figured my work schedule would be flexible enough to make money and go to school. So one late morning I attended a group interview for Aldo, the mid-range shoe store that’s in every damn mall in America. If you must know, I don’t shop there. It’s nothing personal; I’m just very picky when it comes to footwear.

Now if you haven’t figured out by now, I am a pretty reserved woman who prefers silence and intimate gatherings. I am not a fan of large groups, especially in an interview setting where one must stand out by speaking out of turn and never giving anyone else the chance to sell themselves on why they should be hired. And that’s exactly what happened.

--

--

Sanni Lark

Channeling sacred, unadulterated, feminine chaos and wisdom through writing. For more primordial womanhood activation visit: https://www.sannilark.com